Acquire
  • Home link-arrow
  • Settings link-arrow
  • FAQ: Why am I still receiving emails after I've disconnected an inbox?

FAQ: Why am I still receiving emails after I've disconnected an inbox?


The common reason why you may still see emails in your Dashboard even after you’ve disconnected an inbox is that you’re still forwarding emails into Acquire.

In this article:

  • Why Your Getting this Error
  • Disabling Gmail Forwarding 
  • Disabling Outlook Forwarding
  • Updating the Address for Current Conversations

Disabling Email Checklist

Use this checklist to disable forwarding and avoid unexpected Dashboard behavior: 

  1. Delete the inbox from Acquire
  2. Disable forwarding from the inbox 
  3. Delete or update the email address for current Dashboard conversations 

Why You're Getting this Error

Let's say you’ve recently disconnected an inbox, but you’re still getting cases in Acquire from that inbox.

0wa9e1ebYXr7A5reTUnDf7MbDw_olMGm3QuzoAsYqID11sy1oJAu2PBMURh9qjh9rJZXrVivSputD1SYl11ZyNxYJxs93vwWZNX5x4PZKgOq_Ojybmy8UmPCgV7s5XSApf8CtmVC

When you click on this case, a message appears in your timeline telling you you don’t have permission to access the contact.


5mmRpIYYE9WT3KC5KkzkCcEC-NyAtUv8pzPRrx4KFm2AeLJw_-vldsXziYk82o8nNW_5NBxjRb-GXogmqEmCrj2fJhy5OytmK_PzlTcYar2HEXJKheW4VHLYm7JPqpqiE-GK1rDf
 Timeline Info: You either do not have permission to access the contact or any of its case(s) or the contact does not have any case(s) present. 

To stop seeing these cases, first verify that the inbox was disconnected by going to Settings > Installation and Setup > Email Setup


EoT3nmUfnnvwZaKRVhpdpA4F3HDwDF6ZGxfD9fPs7aTJttlF-M405pqz9KEesmYQOyxBCiPfocMX5rL9BL9iq8KmVqRuQixIeUJser9gdxTs3wrmqXPHiv11wo4nvoPa5q3hKD4A
If you only had one inbox prior, you should see a message inviting you to connect the inbox. 

If you use multiple inboxes, you shouldn’t see the inbox among the list of inboxes. If you do, be sure to disconnect it by clicking on the three dots (‘...’) under the ‘Action’ heading and selecting ‘Delete’.


JcBFijuD1dDiY8UjcGv9BVbUbtjvqvPhXEyZfA6BhoBzSAus87EupiDiwv_aG4toTU5IMgxDQ9ZJzL-xnDvkGh-UlksoJU_vMAO5a7act2qx0XNLTZfV-9FTotYxVOCVWGr12uzq

If you’ve successfully deleted the inbox, and still see the cases on the Dashboard, log in to the email account. You'll need to disable forwarding.

Disabling Gmail Forwarding

In this example, we’ve set up a Gmail inbox to forward messages to Acquire.
Go to Settings > See all settings > Forwarding and POP/IMAP. 

kGntBQ-A89gOm6wVN3sEVhoIztkQfZ1nrN5SBt8CjGGkv96JEeYasiIb9_ptFAHttj1sMnvTNtJgnSM5nktExSCxNWECqAHp-3-uMg3FWL12loymCQIurOYFfaHY8AgKatwiSl3a

Be sure to disable forwarding by clicking on the ‘Disable forwarding’ option. Then click ‘Save Changes’.


Read more about disabling forwarding in Gmail.

Disabling Outlook Forwarding

To disable forwarding from an Outlook inbox, log into your Outlook account and go to Settings. At the bottom of the panel, click on ‘View all Outlook settings.’

Select ‘Forwarding’ and clear ‘Enable forwarding’. Then click on ‘Save’.

Read more about clearing a forwarding inbox in Microsoft Support


You shouldn’t see that inbox’s emails on the Dashboard anymore. Keep in mind, if you’re forwarding through more than one inbox, you’ll need to disable forwarding from all your inboxes.


Updating the Address for Current Conversations 

You may have ongoing conversations at the time you disable the inbox. Be sure to update the email address in the Dashboard for those ongoing conversations. 


old-inbox-deleted-f7b2bf483cef02b1234bd4db.png
Deleted email addresses appear in red. When you try to send an email from a deleted address, you receive an error message. 

To update the address, go to an ongoing conversation and choose a new address by clicking on the old address to open the drop-down menu. 


Still having trouble? Reach out to us at support@acqurire.io.


default-user

Related Articles