Acquire
  • Home
  • For Administrators
  • Adding and Managing Users, Roles, and Departments

Adding and Managing Users, Roles, and Departments


Creating exceptional customer experiences starts with your people. Set them up for success by adding them to Acquire and providing them with the correct permissions to succeed in their roles.

In this article:

  • Adding New Users
  • Roles & Permissions
  • Setting Up Departments

Adding New Users

Here’s how to invite your teammates to Acquire:

Adding a Single New User

Head to Settings > Account Settings > Users and Roles, then click the ‘Create User’ button.


Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-55-26-PM-0d514b16960837d739c4ec55.png

Enter the employee’s full name, work email, and a temporary password. Then assign a department and role to set their permissions.

Note: Great temporary password practices include using a unique password for every user, and using a mix of uppercase, lowercase, numbers, and special characters.

Click ‘Add User’ and voila! Their account is ready to go. 

Adding Multiple New Users 

Chances are, you have employee information stored somewhere. To quickly add users, use the Import Users option. You'll need to convert the file to a CSV and input the required fields (see CSV example below). 

To add multiple users from a CSV file, click on the 'Create User' dropdown. 



Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-33-32-PM-49e15d566bb1d6300883b18f.png

Then, select 'Import Users'


Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-33-50-PM-f1913af22cff003354ecc785.png

Upload the CSV file and press 'Import users'. Please note that 'name', 'email', and 'password' are required fields. You may also add 'role' (Administrator or Operator) and 'department'. If left blank, roles will be set to 'Operator'. Department will be left blank if not indicated.

example-user-roles-csv-d1f20689e9afa502625f6e8e.png

Editing a User

At times, employee information changes. To edit a user's information, click on the three dotes ('...') under the 'Action' heading. You'll be able to change everything about a user except their password. To change your password, go to Settings > Account Settings > Profiles and press the 'Change Password' button.


Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-57-29-PM-818d09c22715b0096df3de40.png

Performing Bulk Actions

You may also perform bulk actions using the lightning bolt (action) button. Select the users you'd like the action to be applied to. Then click on it to lightning bolt to: 

  • Delete Selected: Permanently deletes the users. 
  • Activate Selected: Sets the user's status to active. They will be notified of incoming conversations.
  • Deactivate Selected: Sets the user's status to deactivated. They won't be notified of incoming conversations.
bulk-action-f253b75bf746e09680fbfcb6.png

Be sure to take advantage of these productivity tools when managing many users.

Filtering Users

You may filter by active and inactive users. To do so, press the funnel icon and select a category. Only users that belong to that category will appear in the list. 'Clear' the category to return to the regular list. 


Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-34-58-PM-38dcac9273e8b871a7ff3813.png

Roles & Permissions

Note: Out-of-the-box, Acquire provides two roles: Operator and Administrator. Operators have restricted access to Acquire while Administrators have access to the entire platform.

Creating New Roles

Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-41-43-PM-67485a075c1e8a89d548833c.png

Editing Roles

When you're just getting started, you'll likely want to customize Operator settings. Click the three dots ('...') to edit Operator permissions, access-level, and department.


Note: Users can only have one role assigned to them.

Give the role a title like ‘Supervisor’ or ‘Trainer’. Then go through the different sections to allow (or not allow) them to:

  • Change any settings globally on the account
  • View analytics
  • Build and modify chatbots
  • Modify dashboard views
  • Add, edit, and manage Knowledge Bases
  • Configure and edit Shared Inboxes
  • Edit VoIP settings
  • Create and edit Triggers and Business Rules
  • Use different Web Widget features like video, voice, cobrowse and screen sharing
  • Apply an access level (individual, department, account)

Performing Bulk Actions 

Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-38-47-PM-27d60150cc84617f3d73e9fa.png

Filtering Roles

You may filter by active and inactive roles by clicking on the filter button and selecting the status. 

Managing Departments

Departments help organize users into their respective teams and play a role in routing inquiries plus filtering reports and analytics. Some departments you may have are:

  • Sales
  • Support
  • Marketing
  • EMEA
  • North America
  • And so on

In Settings, head to Account Settings > Departments ‘Create Department’ to add a new group and set that group's status to active.

Note: Departments do not have associated permissions. Apply user roles to permit or restrict access.

Creating a New Department

Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-39-55-PM-a105dc8604986e636269783a.png

Editing Departments

Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-4-15-02-PM-4588f356c1eb7f5cf6c4f4d2.png

Performing Bulk Actions

To perform a bulk delete, select the departments you'd like to delete and then click on the action (lightning bolt) button. If you do not select any departments, you may delete all of them using this same method.


Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-3-38-47-PM-889c1ba7a1b39e3776218e3c.png

Filtering Departments 

Screen-Shot-2021-05-18-at-4-16-25-PM-1b3c59dc39101a58adc022d8.png

Related Articles