Acquire

Acquire Docs

Categories

  • Home
  • Cobrowse
  • Configuring & Managing Cobrowse Settings

Configuring & Managing Cobrowse Settings

Guide website visitors with visual cues, troubleshoot issues collaboratively on screen, and help prospective customers complete online forms with Acquire Cobrowse. No visitor downloads required.

In this article:

  • What is Cobrowsing?
  • Adjusting Cobrowse Settings
  • Whitelisting Domains Operators Can Cobrowse On
  • Masking Data Fields During Cobrowse
  • Disabling Cobrowse

What is Cobrowsing?

Cobrowsing is a two-way browser-based interaction between a website visitor and an operator. The connection allows operators to view, annotate, and take over a visitor’s browser tab with their permission. Acquire Cobrowse uses a secure peer-to-peer connection, with no third-party applications needed.

Adjusting Cobrowse Settings

To make changes to cobrowsing, navigate to Settings > Installation and Setup > Cobrowse.

Toggle the following settings on or off to suit your needs:

 

Cobrowse-Only Widget turns off all Acquire Web Widget features except cobrowsing. When a website visitor wants to start a cobrowse session, they will click on the widget to get a unique session code. The visitor gives this code (for example, over a phone call) to the operator so they can initiate the session.

 

Default Annotation Mode allows operators to draw and highlight on the page during a cobrowse session.

Cobrowse in Iframe Client allows cobrowsing when iframe technology is used on the page.

Read-Only Mode allows operators to view and annotate a screen, but disables other interactions.

 

Disable Text Field controls an operator’s ability to type in a cobrowse session, such as filling out a form for the visitor.

Show URL Bar allows the operator to see the visitor’s page URL and browser toolbar during a session.

 

Send Permission Request will trigger a pop up to the website visitor asking permission to initiate a cobrowse session. We recommend keeping this setting on.

 

 

 
Whitelisting Domains Operators Can Cobrowse On

By default, cobrowsing is only enabled on the website you have installed the Widget. Additional domains can be added by navigating to Settings > Installation and Setup > Cobrowse > Advanced Configuration.

Expand Whitelisted Domains to add third-party domains you want to enable cobrowsing on. When a visitor navigates any page on this domain, operators can cobrowse as usual. 

Add any additional domains you manage under Your domains.

How to Mask Data Fields in Cobrowse

During a cobrowse session, the visitor may need to enter sensitive information like their social security number, credit card details, and answers to security questions. Block these inputs from Acquire using data masking.

Configure data masking rules by heading to Settings > Installation and Setup > Cobrowse Settings > Advanced Configuration. Here you’ll choose from disabling at the field level using ‘Disable Input Field Selector’.

To hide fields, enter the name or ID used in your website code.

Disabling Cobrowse

Some organizations do not want to enable cobrowse for operators during training or for other reasons. Set cobrowse permissions at the role level. To turn off cobrowsing for a role go to Settings > Account Settings > Users and Roles > Roles. Click on ‘Chat’ and deselect ‘Cobrowse’.

Note: If you are restricting cobrowsing for a limited group, you need to make a new user role.

Configure data masking rules by heading to Settings > Installation and Setup > Cobrowse Settings > Advanced Configuration. Here you’ll enter the name or field ID in ‘Disabled view’ to block it from being seen by a user in a cobrowse session.

In this menu, you can also disable users from interaction with certain fields using 'Disable Input Field Selector'.



Related Articles

    Ready to make your sales
    and support team more productive?

    Sign up today or request a demo